I bake, therefore I survive

One of the topics often discussed among Europeans here in Australia is bread.
It is just not the same as at home. And it is very expensive too, compared to what we are used to, which makes it harder to accept the quality. We miss heavy, crusty loafs full of seeds – and no, you do not get that in Australia, unless you live near an IKEA. Yes, that’s right: IKEA (and no, they do not make it from the remaining saw dust, like some people think). This packet was my savior for the five years we lived in Brisbane:

I just spent the weekend in Brisbane, arriving with hand luggage only, departing with a 17kg suitcase. Our survival is secured for a little while yet.

But unfortunately there is no IKEA in Cairns and no bakery either which make this type of bread. Luckily, when I was in Denmark my friend Nina gave me the recipe for cold risen bread, which substitutes nicely (though it is not dark enough, but I might be able to fix that myself). I thought I’d share the recipe with you, just in case your stomach needs some real love.

Ingredients:
350 g of flour
15 g of yeast
350 ml of cold water
1 tsp of salt
1 tbsp of sugar
1 tbsp of oil
1 cup of oats/seeds/sawdust or whatever you like

Mix flour with yeast, salt, sugar and oats. Mix water with oil. Mix it all together – it should be like a thick, sticky porridge. Cover the bowl with cling film and stick in the fridge overnight. This step takes less than 5 minutes. The next morning you spoon the dough onto the plate (no mixing it, leave the air in) to create buns (I use two spoons for this) and leave for 10 min (that gives the oven time to warm up). Bake for 25 – 30 min at 200C. All done.

Look at the love in those! Sunflower seeds, poppy seeds, oats and all. Yum, yum, yum!

6 thoughts on “I bake, therefore I survive

  1. Love IKEA! I was horrified on my recent trip home that it hadn’t reached there yet…and nor had Aldi! Horror! However, I do think I may need to try your recipe at some point.
    Glad your needs are sorted for a little while though! x

    • Go for it! I forgot to write that I have tried to substitute the flour with spelt and it worked a treat. It made the bread more dense, which is what I like. I’m hoping to find rye flour up here one day…. fingers crossed!
      When I was in Brisbane someone said that they are thinking to build another IKEA north of Brisbane. I’m thinking to set up a petition for it to be 1800 km north of Brisbane! And don’t get me started on Aldi…

  2. I found rye in Melbourne but only with great difficulty.
    Spelt, ølandshvede or just full grain flour are good (and better than pure no fiber flour), but no substitute for real heavy rye.
    I have no idea how large parts of the world can go for their whole life without ryebread.
    No idea at all.
    Have you tried internet shops?
    The buns look good, I’ed contemplate substituting the sugar for a bit of grated carrot though.

    • I don’t know why I didn’t think “online shopping” straight away. I buy a lot of things online, but not food. I did look once for ryebread online, but looked in Danish shops, which was probably a mistake… the postage was unbelievable.
      I like the idea of substituting sugar with carrot, but am wondering how it will go with the long/cold rising in the fridge. Obviously I will now have to experiment 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

  3. Pingback: Mr Husband bakes | Creative Signe

  4. Pingback: dette er en taske | Stella & Pedro

Leave a Reply

