Who would you take to a deserted island?

I was asked that question just yesterday. If I could choose anyone, who would I spend a week on a deserted island with. Apparently you are supposed to pick someone famous.

Have you ever met someone famous? I have. Heaps actually. And probably a lot more than I am conscious of too. One problem with me is that I tend to be distracted and don’t recognise even people I know. When I DO see someone vaguely familiar, I just think they are a friend of a friend. Like the time in the 80s when I walked by John Taylor from Duran Duran in the street and thought he was a boy from the 10th grade (I was in year 8) and just said a long sentence of rubbish in Danish and thought he was really weird when he didn’t respond (we were in Copenhagen and I said something like ‘fancy seeing you here, is your class on an excursion as well?’). My friend almost passed out of embarrassment and that was the end of that moment.

I once spent half an hour talking to Liam Neeson in a pub in Dublin in the mid 1990’s. I gave a long talk about my observations on poverty in Ireland, as I was on a study trip for that particular reason. He asked what I was doing in Dublin, he got an answer. I had no clue who this partly boring, quite drunk man was until the waiter told me after he had left.

Most times I think it is a good thing that I don’t pay attention to those details. I know I would make a fool of myself if I knew who they were, but had no idea what to say to them. But there has been one or two times where it was embarrassing  Like the time I was invited for dinner by a friend of mine who lives in London. I had a lovely elderly man at my side who kept asking who I was and what I was doing. Then I felt it was my turn to ask and the table fell silent in horror. Apparently he was an actor. Played on EastEnders. He didn’t talk to me for the rest of the evening.

All this experience in check, I never made friends with any famous people. I have made friends with people who have time for me and who I really enjoy spending that time with. Yesterday I wrote about friendship and how precious my friends are to me. Having that in mind and also giving the whole ‘lost-on-an-island-for-one-week-with-a-stranger’ – thing a serious extra though, I came to the conclusion that the person I would most like to spend time with on a deserted island would be a friend.

 

 

 

One thought on “Who would you take to a deserted island?

Leave a Reply

