We can be heroes

I’ve been really quiet these past few months. I’m learning new things about myself and they are confusing. For one, I have learned that I have a need to stay silent, processing what is going on. I have had a lot to process in the past six months, I’m on a real learning curve, pushing through some real dark patches of fear and loneliness.

You see, living the way we do in our household is confronting. Every day we ask ourself: am I doing the right thing? Is it worth it? Am I in the right place, doing the right thing? Are you happy? Am I happy? Are we creating a life, that is to its full potential?

I saw this Youtube clip today. Right where I am now, I can really relate to it. It makes me feel a lot better about all these questions and the walk through the fog. It basically says that we are our own greatest inhibitors and that the one thing that keeps people small is their fears. That to go from an unsatisfying life to a satisfying life, we have to push through some of the scariest things we can imagine.

There is nothing new in this. It is rather banal really. But it somehow makes the fear smaller, when I know that it is part of the journey. That the journey really is about walking through the fear. We are supposed to be the heroes of our own lives.

2 thoughts on “We can be heroes

  1. “We are our own greatest inhibitors”
    Yes, we are.
    I am.
    And when I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone, I’m tormented for days with wondering “Have I made a fool of myself? Are people laughing at things I said and did? Are they laughing at me?”

Leave a Reply

