To travel really is to live

There is only one word to describe how I feel at the moment: unsettled.

The past three months travels and all that came with it has been mind-blowing. It takes time to settle back into life, time to adjust to how things are here, time to filter all the new knowledge and let it all find its place. Relationships have been established, built, re-built, strengthened or fallen apart. Options, alternatives, preferences have been reviewed and questions of who I am, where I am, who I want to be, values, purpose, importance, significant others and all that comes with life and living, has been clarified.

I’m in a good place.

I currently feel as if I’m walking at the edge of my capacity. Hans Christian Andersen said that “to travel is to live”. I don’t think I ever understood the truth of this as much as I do now. If you let it, travelling is not just something you experience; it is something that transforms you. Travelling can force you to grow in a way that hardly anything else can. The journey continues for a long time after the ticket runs out.

One thought on “To travel really is to live

Leave a Reply

