Leaving Nuuk

It is my last evening in Nuuk. I’m exhausted. I have desperately been running around interviewing people, securing new contacts and laying the ground for those who come after me. There is so much to do. Everyone feels it. I can feel the excitement when I start talking, how people immediately engage in the story. It is a massive high, but it also leaves me drained. My brain is swollen, I’m sure of it. I find it hard to collect my thoughts. I have worked 14 hour days since arrival – apart of course from the day after party night. I cannot begin to grasp the material I have already collected.

I didn’t get to do the things I wanted here in Nuuk. Or rather, from a work perspective, I am very satisfied with the priorities I made, but I could have used one more week. I didn’t get to interview all the people I would have liked to talk to, but I have secured contacts that I could only have dreamt of before leaving Australia. I also didn’t go to the museum and I still haven’t bought a single present. Not even for me.

Tomorrow I leave for Qaqortoq, which is my last stop before returning to Copenhagen. Thursday and Friday will be the same circus of running around as fast as I can; then I have the weekend and Monday, which is Pentecost. Three days off. I am crossing my fingers, arms and legs that shops are open and I can find that one thing, which will sit on my desk and remind me of this place. Hopefully something will fall into my lap.

11 thoughts on “Leaving Nuuk

    • I think I am hoping to find something which will keep me motivated while I’m in the writing phase of the PhD. So I can look at it and think of people here, how engaged they were, how much they want to see a result. But you are probably right. I wont need reminding. And I have my pictures as well…

      • When unpacking my bag here in Qaqortoq I realised that I was given the two CDs in Ilulissat and the stone. SO much is happening that I forget things; I already have the thing for my desk – the stone – which I was to take with me to remember the people in Greenland. I feel a little embarrased that I had already forgotten 😦

      • Understand! It’s awful of you not to remember, dear, but it’s probably becauset it was given to you, rather than your buying something for yourself – providing for yoursel as you’re accustomed to do, taking something off your to do list. !

        Slow down a bit now. Savor the last days. Live them for what they are!

      • I know it might sound strange, but my biggest problem on this trip has been that I no longer make lists and no longer own a calendar like other westerners. Living in the tropical north has completely taken this western trait out of me. I have had to force myself to be organised in a way I normally don’t need and I think this is why I sometimes have forgotten some things. In my everyday life I live slow and in the moment. I have had some fantastic conversations here which has meant I suddenly didn’t get time to talk to others. Because I savored that moment. I don’t regret this. Not at all. But I can see that it has its down-side as well…

      • I’ve just come across this explanation, from you Sign (it’s just turned up, out of the blue!!!) , and can understand what you mean.

        By the way, are you ok now – been a while since you posted.

      • Thank you so much for thinking of me – I am having problems with access to the internet where I’m staying in Copenhagen, so I cannot check the blog/emails on a regular basis. Truthfully I haven’t been all that well. I have had a cold/sinusitis that developed into pheumonia. I’m not use to the medication and it has knocked me out. I’m back on my feet again and getting better by the day but still get tired very easily. Three hours of activity leaves me dead for a day. I haven’t had the energy to blog – I start my posts, but by the time I’m half way through, I am too tired. BUT it is getting better and I will be back.
        I hope all is well with you. Best wishes from here

      • I just knew you’d become really sick – oh dear, at least you were at home in your old bed, with your family all around you – the best situation for a girl away from her man …

        Give yourself permission to take time to recover – pneumonia is a serious illness, Signe, and I think it’s a long time since you allowed yourself the luxury of being ill (come on, admit it!).

        Enjoy your time in Copenhagen – how different to FNQ!

      • True, true and so true. I have not allowed myself to be ill for a long, long time. I have built up so much preassure for the trip to Greenland (not intended, but unavoidable I think) and at the successful completion, completely collapsed. Fortunately I have had time to be ill here, which has taken most of the stress off. It has been nice to doodle around for a little while. Though I still have some issues with my breathing, I can feel myself getting stronger, which is really nice!
        Thank you so much for your concern. It really warms me to know that people far away are thinking of me. I have enjoyed your blog from my corner in the sofa on a regular basis 🙂

        PS If only people could understand HOW different Copenhagen and FNQ are… it is two different worlds completely…

Leave a Reply

