What to do?

Oh here I sit again:should I, should I not. First I write a funny little story and then BAM! I hit you with this thing. Do you really want to read these horrible stories from the Australia we don’t talk about? Should I save it for another blog? Or have a Serious Sunday item? Help me out; the blog is still only one month old, so we have plenty of options for development (none of you can have gotten used to anything yet!)

This is from The Australian (newspaper) and it just makes me so ANGRY – in a couple of hours I will just be sad, but for now there is fire in my gut! So much so, I have to share it. Think about yourself at age 9. Did you know about suicide at that age? Understand what it was?

Calls to act after suicide of girl, 9

A NINE-YEAR-OLD girl has killed herself in South Australia’s remote Aboriginal lands, 10 months after the state Labor government ignored pleas from 40 community members to retain a child protection worker at her school.

The death of the girl in the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands and the apparent failure of the Weatherill government to act has led to renewed questions about the ability of the state to handle the troubled region.

Leave a Reply

