Pancakes (you’ll love ’em)

After spilling my guts on the bowel issue (my last post), I felt so good that I decided to embark on an all time Sunday morning special: pancakes

I make pancakes on a regular basis and cannot be bothered having a recipe. It is a feel thing. If you are not comfortable with cooking with gefülhe this is not for you. But if you are: easy-peasy amazing pancakes.

You need:eggs, flour, salt, baking powder, milk, butter, sugar. I use brown sugar as I like the taste better and I also add vanilla sugar and cardamom.

You knock the eggs (I used 4 this time around) into a bowl, add some flour – just sprinkle approximately half a cupful over the eggs. Then add all the dry ingredients you need/want. I used: 1 teaspoon of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of cardamom, 2 teaspoons of vanilla sugar, 3 teaspoons of baking powder and 2 handfuls of brown sugar, looking like this:

I use a whisk and start mixing it real good. Then I start to add more flour – and this is the gefülh thing. You add flour until the dough is real tight, until you think “If I add anymore I cannot move it around and my arm will fall off trying.” In my case it looks like this:

Then you add milk a little at a time until the dough becomes the right consistency to make pancakes of. That is a sirupy consistency which I cannot describe, so I made this little movie (and don’t mind the funny lumps – I used a bit of wholemeal this time just to try; wouldn’t recommend it).

I then forgot to take a picture of an essential step. You heat up your pan and put a good lump of butter in it while it is heating. When the butter has melted (not brown) you pour it into the dough and mix it in.

You are ready to start baking. Pour in the dough and leave it till there are bubbles coming through the cake looking like this:

That is what secures the fluffy cakes. Do I need to tell you to flip it over and cook the other side too? Off you go! Bon appetite!

I have been making pancakes for a long, long time. When I met Egi Master San I courted him with pancakes (among other things) and because we were revoltingly in love, I always made him a heart-shaped pancake (aaarrrwwwww). Then one day, after 4 years together, I didn’t, because I thought maybe he thought it was a bit corny and it really was over-the-top-teenage-crap etc etc I had no idea how upset he would become, real sad, and so here I am, almost 12 years later, still making heart-shaped pancakes for my sweetheart. And I still getting a kiss when it is delivered.

This is what our breakfast table looked like this morning before I sat down (heart-shaped cake on top of stack):

Leave a Reply

